Skip to content

“Driscollesque” Pastor Explains What a Real Man Is

March 14, 2011

I don’t mean to make assumptions, but the guy in the video seems quite taken with the “radiant and ruddy” man described in Song of Songs.  Maybe even more so than his (assumedly) female lover who writes about him.

For those taking notes at home, here are some things on the “real dude” checklist.

  • Dark skin (editors note: RAWR!)
  • Doesn’t wear skinny jeans
  • Doesn’t drink decaf herbal tea
  • Wins lots of fights
  • Doesn’t listen to Celine Dion
  • Doesn’t watch Ellen
  • Is somewhat familiar with Jersey Shore, although that part is a little confusing
  • Doesn’t look like a chick

I guess that about covers it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 1:09 pm

    Let’s see how I do:

    1. I don’t go out in the sun much so I fail there.

    2. I’m too fat for skinny jeans, so +1 for me.

    3. I drink fat-free white mochas, does that count as “manly?”

    4. Fail!

    5. Win!

    6. Win (although I do think she’s funny)

    7. Well, I am aware of the show and some of the characters. Does that count?

    8. I have a goatee, so I guess that counts.

  2. March 15, 2011 10:21 am

    Someone has been studying Mark Driscoll. (And it’s GTL, not GLT….)

  3. March 15, 2011 10:45 am

    I don’t get how he got all of that from that passage. “Distinguished” isn’t saying he’s more manly than other people, it just means that he’s well-regarded. Well-respected. People know him, trust him, and look up to him.

    Basically, he’s like Jimmy Carter.

  4. March 17, 2011 1:35 am

    I suppose he believes faux hawks are manly.

Leave a Reply

